Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Champion Open DivisionYou won’t want to miss the inaugural Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Championship as it concludes with the longest ball strikers in the world! World champions Joe Miller, Ryan Winther, and Tim Burke will all compete along with 25 additional champions from as far as Europe in the Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Champion Open Division.

Yesterday, we saw drives as far as 420 yards with club head speeds just over 150 miles per hour! The Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Champion Open Division will begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 26, at the Mesquite Sports  and Events Complex and conclude around 3 p.m. Fans were treated last weekend with some very impressive ball striking when the Seniors, Super Seniors, Grand Champions, Legends, and Masters competed. Even at more than 65 years old, the winner of the Legends division—Daniel Fournier from Quebec—hit a crusher at 383 yards. Go to for a list of all competitors and winners of last weekend’s events.

Tomorrow promises to push these competitors to the limit as they compete for cash and bragging rights before they hit the World Long Drive Championship in Oct. 14 through Oct. 21 in Thackerville, Ok. The Winstar World Casino and Resort will host the event, which moved from Las Vegas just last year.

Yours truly will be your announcer for this event. I had a great time last weekend as their announcer and hope to improve on my DJ voice this Saturday. Here’s a complete list of who’ll be competing at the Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Champion Open Division tomorrow.

Mesquite Ultimate Long Drive Champion Open Division
Photo by Scott Dunford

Adam Taylor, New Zealand
Adam Wilson, Alberta, Canada
Bryan Kelley, Terrell, Texas.
Casey Jinks, San Diego
Chris Burke, Benicia, Calif.
Dalton Musgrave, Roy, Ut.
Derek Foust, Pahrump, Nev.
Dwight Riddle, British Columbia, Canada
Eric Houballah, France
Gabriel Landry, Canada
Joshua Crews, Willis, Texas
Joe Miller, United Kingdom (2010 World Champion)
Kevin Shook, Irvine, Calif.
Luke Beck, Irvine, Calif.
Maurice Allen, Florida
Mauro Benaglio, Zurich, Switzerland
Mitch Dobbyns, California
Nick Guyton, Ashburn, Va.
Rahim Mohamed, Canada
Rick Scarfia, Las Vegas
Ryan Winther, California (2012 World Champion)
Steve Magan, Illinois
Tim Burke, Orlando (2013 World Champion)
Troy Teal, Washington
Walter Shires, California
Seth Ellsworth, Mesquite, Nev.
Tommy Hug, Orange County

See ya there!